Mohun Bagan Champions of Federation Cup 2016

Saturday, 21 May 2016|AIFF Media
Federation Cup: Mohun Bagan 5-0 Aizawl FC - Sony Norde stars as Bagan lift their 14th Federation Cup title

 Sanjoy Sen guided his side to win their 14th Federation Cup title as they eased past Jahar Das’Aizawl FC...

Mohun Bagan downed Aizawl FC 5-0 with goals from Sony Norde (48’), Dhanachandra Singh (58’).,Jeje Lalpekhlua (73’ and 88’) and Bikramjit Singh (82’) to win the 2016 edition of the Federation Cup.

Mohun Bagan started with their strongest eleven with Debjit Majumder between the sticks, Pritam Kotal and Dhanachandra Singh operating as two full-backs while Luciano Sobrosa and Kinshuk Debnath being the two centre-backs. Pronay Halder, Bikramjit Singh manning the middle of the park while Jeje Lalpekhlua, Cornell Glen, Sony Norde and Katsumi Yusa sharing the attacking duties.

For Aizawl FC, Jahar Das started all of his four foreign players in Emmanuel Chigozie, Yuta Kinowaki, Joel Sunday and Alfred Jaryan.

Mohun Bagan had the first chance as early as in he third minute. Yusa and Glen combined and found Norde who made space for himself down the left and cut it back for Jeje. The Mizoram striker shot from close range but Ricky Lallawmawma was at hand to block his effort.

The very next minute saw Albert Zohmingmawia run down the right as he eased past Bikramjit Singh but Sobrosa quickly got across to clear the danger.

Thereafter, the play was restricted to the middle of the park with both teams struggling to break down the opposition’s defense.

In the 24th minute, Lalmuankima's delicious cross from the left missed the onrushing Sunday by a whisker.

After the half hour mark, Yusa’s corner-kick fell to an unmarked Glen whose tame shot was easily gathered by Poirei.

Aizawl’s left channel wasn’t very effective for most of the first half while Bagan hoped that their central midfield partnership of Bikamjit and Pronay put in a dominating performance in the second session.

The deadlock was broken just three minutes into the second half. Bikramjit’s lobbed pass into the opposition box saw Jeje chest it down onto the path of an onrushing Norde. The Haitian was under no pressure whatsoever as he slotted the ball home with the simplest of finishes as Poirei couldn’t stop it despite diving to his right.

The Reds of Mizoram had a chance to equalise soon after but Chigozie failed to keep his effort on target from a corner.

The Kolkata outfit doubled their lead in the 58th minute. Yusa’s corner was aimed towards to the far post where Dhanachandra’s powerful header didn’t offer Poirei any chance whatsoever.

Norde went on a brilliant run from the left however, he was stopped in his tracks by Lalcchawnkima who put in a timely challenge.

The Green and Maroon brigade all but confirmed their victory in the 73rd minute when Jeje added his name on the scoresheet. Glen’s back-heel for Jeje saw the latter’s curling effort sail into the bottom corner as Aizawl FC were stunned as to what had hit them after the break.

Kinowaki had a rare chance to pull one back for his team but his shot from inside the box missed the target, much to the disappointment of Aizawl fans.

In the 82nd minute, Bikramjit Singh slotted the ball into an empty net from close range. This was after Norde ran from the left past a couple of Aizawl defenders to square it for the midfielder who applied the finishing touch.

Four minutes later, Debjit was called into action as he tipped a Sunday shot from outside the box for a corner.

The final nail in the coffin came in the 88th minute as substitute Azharuddin Mullick crossed from the left for Jeje who tapped into the net as Aizawl defense was guilty of not marking the latter inside the box.

The Mariners deserved their victory for an outstanding performance in the second half as Sanjoy Sen’s half-time team talk did the wonders.