• Home
  • Articles
  • Category:

  • AFC Cup Qualifiers : Mohun Bagan To Miss Norde, Eduardo Against Colombo FC

AFC Cup Qualifiers : Mohun Bagan To Miss Norde, Eduardo Against Colombo FC

Sunday, 29 January 2017|Abhishek Mukherjee

Mohun Bagan are shifting their focus from the I-League to the AFC Cup as they gear up to take on Sri Lankan outfit, Colombo FC in the 1st leg of the AFC Cup preliminary round encounter at the Race Course Ground in Colombo on January 31.

Bagan will be travelling to Sri Lanka without the likes of Sony Norde, Eduardo Ferreira, Pronay Haldar, Kingshuk Debnath and Raju Gaekwad, owing to injuries.

Bagan gaffer Sanjoy Sen is taking no chances with injuries now with the Kolkata derby being right around the corner. He remained optimistic about his team's chances in Sri Lanka amidst injury concerns.

"We do have some injuries but I am sure we will find suitable replacements, given the squad we have. There are players like Souvik Ghosh, Sehnaj Singh who can fill in as a centre back. If we get a positive result in our away game, there will be less pressure on us in our home fixture," Sen quipped.

However, Sanjoy Sen is a little concerned with the weather in Sri Lanka. "It's cold now in Kolkata but it will be warm in Sri Lanka. The humidity will be a factor. The players need to adapt." 

Skipper Katsumi Yusa remained confident as ever before the crucial encounter. "I am not concerned about who is missing this match. We have won matches without Sony and Eduardo and we will have to play as a unit to fill in their void," he said.

The Mariners will be banking on youth to extract a result against Colombo FC. Kean Lewis, who had a brilliant ISL with Delhi Dynamos, returns to the squad along with Azharuddin Mallick. Lewis will likely have to fill in the big boots of Sony Norde, who opted himself out of this match due to a slight hamstring injury.

The following players will be travelling to Sri Lanka for the AFC Cup preliminary round encounter.

1. Shilton Paul (gk)
2. Debjit Majumder (gk)
3. Shibinraj Kunniyil (gk)
4. PritamKkotal
5. Shouvik Ghosh
6. Subhasish Bose
7. Prabir Das
8. Bikramjit Singh
9. Azaharuddin Mallick
10. Souvik Chakrabarti
11. Sehnaj Singh
12. Bikramjit Singh
13. Katsumi Yusa
14. Balwant Singh
15. Kean Lewis
16. Darryl Alexander Duffy
17. Jeje Lalpekhlua
18. Anas Edathodika